
How we picked
This isn't our full kava ranking; that's the best kava drinks of 2026. This page ranks cans for one buyer: someone who has never had kava. We scored each can on five things a first-timer should care about:
1. Does the label say how much kava is in it? A kavalactone figure is best, an extract weight is next, and no number is last. 2. How much does a first try cost? Small packs and samplers beat a 12-can minimum. 3. Is it caffeine-free? We only say yes when the brand says so. 4. How much sugar? As the brand lists it. 5. Does the flavor lead with fruit? Kava itself is earthy, so we quote how each brand describes its flavor.
Every price and label fact below comes from each brand's own product page, checked October 21, 2026. Prices are one-time prices, before shipping, tax or subscription discounts. Per-can prices are our math: the pack price divided by the cans in it.
First kava cans, compared
| Drink | Kava on the label (as the brand lists it) | Price per can at brand site (checked Oct 21, 2026) | Pack sizes | Caffeine-free? | Calories / sugar | Flavor (brand's words) | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Leilo Variety Sampler and 12-packs Our review | Proprietary blend, 1,000 mg kava root extract; kavalactones not listed | $5.00 (Sampler, 6 for $29.99) · $4.17 (Classic or Mocktail 12-pack, $49.99) | 6 (Sampler), 12 | Yes ("zero caffeine") | 5 to 30 / 0 to 5 g, by flavor: Classics 25 to 30 cal and 4 to 5 g; Mocktails 5 to 15 cal and 0 g (Leilo flavor pages) | Classics: Raspberry Hibiscus, Tangerine Mango, Blackberry Orange. Mocktails: Margarita, Moscow Mule, Piña Colada | Brand site |
| Mitra9 Paradise Lychee Kava Seltzer Our review | 500 mg kava root extract, standardized to 30% kavalactones | $7.50 (4, $29.99) · $6.25 (12, $74.99) · $6.04 (24, $144.95) | 4, 12, 24 | Not stated; no caffeine source in the ingredients | 15 / 2 g | "Sweet lychee and tropical undertones" | Brand site |
| MELO Sparkling Kava Variety Pack | Kava root extract blend, 1,000 mg; kavalactones not listed | $4.17 (12, $49.99) · $3.75 (24, $89.99) · $3.61 (36, $129.99) | 12, 24, 36 | Yes ("zero caffeine") | 0 / 0 g (sweetened with erythritol and stevia) | "Tart lime, creamy banana, and sweet passionfruit-guava" | Brand site |
| BBCo Kava Orange Dream Our review | 600 mg kava root isolate; linked lab report (Feb 2025 batch): 59.7 mg total kavalactones per can | $9.00 (4, $36) · $8.50 (12, $102) · $8.25 (24, $198) | 4, 12, 24 | Not stated; no caffeine source in the ingredients | 50 (can front) / 17 g | "Zesty, organic orange" | Shop |
| BBCo Kava Tutti Frutti Our review | 600 mg kava root isolate; kavalactones not listed | $9.00 (4, $36) · $8.50 (12, $102) · $8.25 (24, $198) | 4, 12, 24 | Not stated; no caffeine source in the ingredients | 60 (can front) / 17 g | Rainbow sherbet: "citrus, berry, and tropical fruit" | Shop |
| TRU KAVA Sparkling Kava | Whole-root kava juice, "full-spectrum kavalactone profile"; mg not listed | $5.83 (6-pack, $34.95; same price per six-pack at any quantity) | Six-packs, 1 to 6 at a time | Not stated; no caffeine source in the ingredients | 10 / 0 g (Tropical Citrus) | Tropical Citrus ("bright, tropical, crisp") or Ginger Brew ("warm, spiced, refreshing") | Brand site |
| Kamello Variety Pack (kava + kanna) | Kava and kanna; mg not listed on the product page | $5.00 (6, $29.99) · $4.58 (12, $54.99) | 6, 12 | Yes ("caffeine-free blends") | Not listed | Citrus Blossom, Peach & Black Tea, a "coffee-inspired" Spiced Coffee | Brand site |
Reading the kava column: an extract or isolate weight (Leilo's 1,000 mg, BBCo's 600 mg) is the weight of the kava ingredient, not the kavalactones in it. Don't compare it against a kavalactone figure, and don't read a bigger number as "stronger." Mitra9 states a standardization, and BBCo links a lab report for one batch of Orange Dream. Nothing else here gives a kavalactone number.
Leilo Variety Sampler (6 cans)
The Leilo Variety Sampler is the cheapest way on this list to try kava without committing to one flavor: six cans, six flavors, $29.99. Every Leilo can lists the same kava, 1,000 mg of a proprietary kava root extract blend, so you're comparing flavors, not amounts. Leilo says the cans have zero caffeine. Each flavor's page lists 5 to 30 calories and 0 to 5 g of sugar: the fruit Classics are 25 to 30 calories with 4 to 5 g, and the Mocktails are 5 to 15 calories with 0 g. The catch: Leilo gives an extract weight, not a kavalactone figure. If you find a favorite, the Classic and Mocktail 12-packs are $49.99 each. How Leilo compares with Mitra9.
See it at LeiloMitra9 Kava Seltzer
Mitra9 Paradise Lychee gives a first-timer the most to go on: its Supplement Facts panel lists 500 mg of kava root extract standardized to 30% kavalactones. That's a standardization a brand states, not a lab result for your batch. It's 15 calories with 2 g of sugar, and the 4-pack is $29.99, so it's a low-cost first try. Mitra9 sells other seltzers in similar cans, so check that the can says kava before you buy. Read our Mitra9 review.
See it at Mitra9MELO Sparkling Kava
MELO's variety pack lists 0 calories, 0 g of sugar and zero caffeine, with 1,000 mg of kava root extract blend per can. At $3.61 to $4.17 a can it's the cheapest per can here. The smallest pack is 12 cans, so it's a bigger first order than Leilo or Mitra9. MELO's own advice for new drinkers: "Start with one and give it fifteen minutes before deciding."
See it at MELO
Kava Orange Dream
If what worries you about kava is the taste, Botanical Brewing's Orange Dream leads with "zesty, organic orange," closer to a craft soda than a health drink. Its label lists 600 mg of kava root isolate, and BBCo links a lab report: the February 2025 batch tested at 59.7 mg of total kavalactones per can. That's one batch, so read it as a ballpark. It's 50 calories on the can front, but the product-page panel lists 17 g of sugar, and at $8.25 to $9 a can it's the priciest pick here. Want it sweeter? Tutti Frutti is rainbow sherbet, 60 calories. Read our Orange Dream review.
Shop Orange DreamZero alcohol · Ships direct from Botanical BrewingTRU KAVA Kava Drink
TRU KAVA uses whole-root kava juice instead of an extract, and it lists 10 calories and 0 g of sugar. It doesn't print a kava amount, only a "full-spectrum kavalactone profile." It's $34.95 a six-pack, the same price per six-pack at any quantity. Pick it if you want to know what kava itself tastes like, with Tropical Citrus or Ginger Brew on top.
See it at TRU KAVANot a first can
- Kamello combines kava and kanna in one can. Two plants at once isn't where we'd start, and kanna should never be combined with antidepressants. It's in the table so you can compare, but we didn't rank it. Read who should skip kanna below.
- Botanical Brewing's Sucker Punch is labeled "Double Strength." It's for regulars, not first-timers. See our Sucker Punch review. BBCo's Kava Variety 12-Pack ($102 on sale, down from $120, checked October 21, 2026) includes Sucker Punch alongside Orange Dream and Tutti Frutti, so if you buy it, start with one of the other two.
What to look for in your first kava drink
- A kava amount on the label. Prefer a can that lists kavalactones or at least an extract weight, so you know what you're drinking.
- Start with one can. Drink it slowly and wait before deciding on a second. Don't drive after drinking it.
- Never mix kava with alcohol. Drink it instead of a drink, not with one.
- Check with your doctor first if you have a liver condition, drink heavily, or take any daily medication. Kava has been linked to rare cases of serious liver injury, and it can interact with some medications.
- 21+ only. Skip kava if you're pregnant or breastfeeding.
- Check the caffeine and sugar. Several brands say their cans are caffeine-free, and sugar runs from 0 to 17 g in this table.
New to kava altogether? Start with what kava is. Weighing a can against powder or stick packs? See kava cans vs. instant kava vs. stick packs: cost per serving.
Sources
- Leilo Variety Sampler, Leilo Classic Variety and Leilo Mocktail Variety: prices, pack sizes, flavors, caffeine wording; calories and sugar from each of Leilo's six single-flavor pages (the variety pages' summary panels show "0 Calories," which doesn't match)
- Mitra9 Paradise Lychee Kava Seltzer: prices, pack sizes, Supplement Facts and ingredients (label image)
- MELO Sparkling Kava Variety Pack: prices, pack sizes, Supplement Facts (label image), ingredients, caffeine FAQ
- Botanical Brewing Co. Orange Dream, Tutti Frutti and Kava Variety 12-Pack: prices, label images, and the Orange Dream lab report (MBL, February 2025) linked from its page; calories are the figures printed on the can front
- TRU KAVA Sparkling Kava: price, Nutrition Facts (label image), ingredients
- Kamello Variety Pack: prices, pack sizes, flavors, caffeine wording
All checked on each brand's own site October 21, 2026. Brands change recipes and prices, so the can in your hand is the final word.
Who should skip kava
- Kava drinks are for adults 21+. Skip them if you're under 21.
- Skip kava if you're pregnant or breastfeeding.
- Skip kava if you have a liver condition or drink heavily. Kava has been linked to rare cases of serious liver injury.
- Skip it if you take antidepressants (including SSRIs), sedatives, sleep aids or medications that affect the liver, unless your doctor says it's OK.
- Rules on kava vary by place. Check your local rules before you buy.
- One can or shell is one serving. Don't mix kava with alcohol, and don't drive after drinking it.
Who should skip kanna
- Kanna drinks are for adults 21+. Skip them if you're under 21.
- Skip kanna if you're pregnant or breastfeeding.
- Never combine kanna with antidepressants (SSRIs, SNRIs, MAOIs) or other serotonergic medications.
- Talk to your doctor first if you take sedatives, sleep aids or any other daily medication.
- Rules on botanical products vary by state and country. Check your local rules before you buy.
- One can is one serving. Don't drink it with alcohol, and don't drive after drinking it.
These are general cautions, not medical advice. If you're unsure, talk to your doctor or pharmacist.
Questions people ask
What's the best kava drink for a beginner?
For a first purchase, the Leilo Variety Sampler: six flavors for $29.99, zero caffeine, and 1,000 mg of a proprietary kava extract blend in each can. If you want the most specific kava figure on the label, Mitra9 Paradise Lychee lists 500 mg of extract standardized to 30% kavalactones. Prices checked October 21, 2026.
How many kava drinks should a beginner have?
One. Drink it slowly and wait before deciding on a second. MELO's own advice is to give it fifteen minutes. Never mix kava with alcohol, and don't drive after drinking it.
Which kava drinks list kavalactones?
Of the cans here, Mitra9 lists 500 mg of extract standardized to 30% kavalactones, and Botanical Brewing links a lab report showing 59.7 mg of kavalactones per can for one Orange Dream batch. Leilo and MELO list a 1,000 mg extract weight, and TRU KAVA says "full-spectrum" without a number.
Are kava drinks caffeine-free?
Leilo, MELO and Kamello say theirs are. Mitra9, Botanical Brewing and TRU KAVA don't say, but none of their ingredient lists includes a caffeine source.
What's the cheapest way to try kava?
The Leilo Variety Sampler ($29.99 for 6) or a Mitra9 4-pack ($29.99). MELO is cheaper per can, from $3.61, but its smallest pack is 12 cans for $49.99. Prices checked October 21, 2026.
Who shouldn't drink kava?
Anyone under 21, pregnant or breastfeeding, with a liver condition, or who drinks heavily. If you take any daily medication, talk to your doctor first.

