Shopping for the best one in a format? This page compares formats on cost. For our product picks, see the best kava drinks of 2026 (cans), the best kava stick packs and the best instant kava.
The three formats
- Ready-to-drink cans. Sparkling, flavored, 12 oz. Nothing to measure or mix.
- Instant kava powder. Plain kava (dried kava juice or very fine powder) that you measure and mix into water or another non-alcoholic drink. No strainer, but it tastes like kava: earthy and peppery.
- Stick packs, sachets and tablets. Single servings, pre-measured and usually flavored. Tear one open, add cold water.
Cost per serving, side by side
| Drink | Format | Price per serving at brand site (Oct 15, 2026) | Kava on the label | Calories / sugar | Prep (brand's directions) | Storage or shelf life (as stated) | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BBCo Kava Orange Dream Our review | 12 oz can | $9 (4-pack, $36) · $8.50 (12, $102) · $8.25 (24, $198) | 600 mg kava root isolate; kavalactones not listed | 50 / not listed | None: chill and open | Not stated | Shop |
| BBCo Kava Tutti Frutti Our review | 12 oz can | $9 (4-pack, $36) · $8.50 (12, $102) · $8.25 (24, $198) | 600 mg kava root isolate; kavalactones not listed | 60 / not listed | None: chill and open | Not stated | Shop |
| BBCo Kava Sucker Punch Our review | 12 oz can | $14 (4-pack, $56) · $14 (12, $168) · $13 (24, $312) | 1,400 mg kava extract; kavalactones not listed | 48 / 12 g | None: chill and open | Not stated | Shop |
| MELO Sparkling Kava Variety Pack | 12 oz slim can | $4.17 (12, $49.99) · $3.75 (24, $89.99) · $3.61 (36, $129.99) | 1,000 mg kava root extract blend; kavalactones not listed | 0 / 0 g | None | "Keep refrigerated after opening" | Brand site |
| Leilo Mocktail Variety | 12 oz can | $4.17 (12, $49.99) | 1,000 mg proprietary kava root extract blend; kavalactones not listed | 0 / 0 g | None | Canned and pasteurized "for shelf stability"; no date stated | Brand site |
| TRU KAVA Tropical Citrus | 12 oz can | $4.99 (6-pack, $29.94) | Whole-root kava juice; amount not listed | 10 / 0 g | None: chill and open | Not stated | Brand site |
| Leilo Kava Drink Mix (Berry or Lemon Lime) | Stick pack | $2.50 (10, $24.99) | 1,000 mg proprietary kava root extract blend; kavalactones not listed | 5 / 0 g | Stir one stick into 12 to 16 oz cold water (FAQ: 8 to 12 oz) | Not stated | Brand site Also on Amazon (price varies) |
| TRU KAVA Tropical Sachets | Single-serve sachet | $3.75 (12, $44.95) | About 246 mg kavalactones per serving (stated) | Not listed | One sachet in 6 to 8 oz water, shake | Not stated | Brand site |
| FijiKava Pina Colada Effervescent Tablets | Effervescent tablets | Not calculable: $25 for a 10-pack; servings per pack not stated | Kava (Piper methysticum) in the ingredients; amount not listed | Not listed | Dissolve, chew, or fizz in water | Not stated | Brand site |
| FijiKava Instant Powder | Instant powder | $2.00 (50 g, $19.99) · $1.30 (250 g, $64.99) · $0.95 (500 g, $94.99) | Kavalactones not listed | Not listed | 1 tsp (5 g) in 200 mL cold water, blend 1 to 2 min | Not stated | Brand site Also on Amazon (price varies) |
| Epik Instant Kava Borogoru (Nakamal at Home) | Instant powder (dried kava juice) | $2.64 (125 g, $65.95, 25 servings) | About 10.1% kavalactones by HPLC (stated) | Not listed | 5 g in 4 oz non-alcoholic liquid | Not stated | Brand site |
How we got these numbers. Prices are the one-time price on each brand's own product page on October 15, 2026, before shipping, tax, subscriptions or first-order discounts. One can, stick or sachet is one serving. For powder, we divided the bag weight by the brand's own grams per serving (5 g for both powders here). Where a brand doesn't say how many servings are in a pack, we don't guess. Calories and sugar are only shown where the brand lists them; for Botanical Brewing we use the calories printed on the can front. "Kava on the label" quotes the brand. An extract weight, a root-isolate weight and a kavalactone figure are different measurements, so this column isn't a strength ranking. None of these pages gives a shelf life or best-by period, so the last column only quotes what's stated.
The formats, summed up
| Cans | Stick packs and sachets | Instant powder | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price per serving (products above) | About $3.61 to $14 | About $2.50 to $3.75 | About $0.95 to $2.64 |
| Prep | None | Tear, add cold water, stir or shake | Measure, then stir, shake or blend |
| Portability | Heavy; best cold, so a fridge or cooler helps | Light, single servings; needs water | A bag plus a measuring spoon and water |
| Taste | Flavored and sparkling | Flavored, still (FijiKava's tablets fizz) | Plain kava unless you flavor it |
| Calories and sugar | 0 to 60 calories in the cans above | 5 calories for Leilo; others not listed | Not listed |
| Our best-of page | Best kava drinks | Best kava stick packs | Best instant kava |
Which format fits you
You want the lowest cost per serving: instant powder. A larger bag is where the price drops. FijiKava's 500 g bag works out to about $0.95 a serving at the brand's 5 g serving, against $2.00 in the 50 g bag. The trade-off is time and taste: you measure, mix and drink plain kava. Start with the best instant kava.
You want convenience away from home: stick packs or sachets. They're pre-measured, light and need only cold water. Leilo's sticks are about $2.50 each and list 5 calories and 0 g of sugar. TRU KAVA's sachets are about $3.75 and are the one item here that prints a kavalactone figure per single serving. Compare them in the best kava stick packs.
You want the easiest, best-tasting drink at home: a can. You pay for the can, the bubbles and the flavor. MELO and Leilo come in around $3.61 to $4.17 a can in bigger packs and list 0 calories. Botanical Brewing's cans cost more, but they're the ones we reach for when flavor is the point: Orange Dream is zesty orange at 50 calories, Tutti Frutti is a rainbow-sherbet fruit can at 60. See every can we've compared in the best kava drinks of 2026.
You already drink kava and want a bolder lemonade can: Sucker Punch. BBCo labels it "Double Strength Lemonade Kava" and lists 1,400 mg of kava extract, 48 calories and 12 g of sugar. At $13 to $14 a can it's the most expensive serving on this page. Read our Sucker Punch review first.
You're watching calories or sugar. Every can and stick here that lists them is low, but MELO and Leilo's mocktail cans list 0 calories and 0 g of sugar. Powders don't list either, so check with the brand.
Ways to cut the cost per serving
- Buy the bigger pack. It lowered the per-serving price for every brand above that sells more than one size.
- Subscriptions are cheaper, but they're recurring. Leilo, MELO and TRU KAVA all show subscribe-and-save prices. We used one-time prices above.
- Count shipping. MELO and Leilo say shipping is free; TRU KAVA says free U.S. shipping over $125. Shipping can change the math on a small order.
Who should skip kava
- Kava drinks are for adults 21+. Skip them if you're under 21.
- Skip kava if you're pregnant or breastfeeding.
- Skip kava if you have a liver condition or drink heavily. Kava has been linked to rare cases of serious liver injury.
- Skip it if you take antidepressants (including SSRIs), sedatives, sleep aids or medications that affect the liver, unless your doctor says it's OK.
- Rules on kava vary by place. Check your local rules before you buy.
- One can or shell is one serving. Don't mix kava with alcohol, and don't drive after drinking it.
These are general cautions, not medical advice. If you're unsure, talk to your doctor or pharmacist.
Questions people ask
Is instant kava cheaper than kava drinks in a can?
Yes, per serving. The instant powders we priced worked out to about $0.95 to $2.64 a serving at the brand sites on Oct 15, 2026; the cans were about $3.61 to $14. You give up convenience and the flavored, sparkling taste.
Are kava stick packs cheaper than cans?
Usually. Leilo's sticks are about $2.50 each and TRU KAVA's sachets about $3.75, against $3.61 to $14 for the cans we priced. A big pack of a low-cost can like MELO gets close to sachet prices.
Is kava powder the same as a stick pack?
Not quite. Instant kava powder is plain kava you measure yourself. Stick packs and sachets are pre-measured single servings, usually flavored. Leilo's use a kava extract blend; TRU KAVA's sachets list whole-root kava.
Which kava format is strongest?
The labels don't let you rank them. Some list an extract weight, some a root-isolate weight and some a kavalactone figure, and many list nothing. We compare cost, prep and taste, not strength.
Which kava format lasts longest on the shelf?
None of the brand pages we checked states a shelf life or best-by period. MELO says to keep its cans refrigerated after opening, and Leilo says its cans are pasteurized for shelf stability. Check the date on the package.
Where can I buy kava cans and powder?
Every product above links to the brand's own site. For store options, see our guide to where to buy kava drinks.


