The new evening ritual is zero proof. See the cans we drink
The Functional Sip
Home / Field notes / Review

Leilo kava review

Leilo makes six sparkling kava flavors in two lines, fruity Classics and sugar-free Mocktails. Here's what each label lists and what you pay.

By The Functional Sip · Updated October 21, 2026
The short answer
Leilo is a caffeine-free sparkling kava tonic in six flavors. Every can lists the same 1,000 mg proprietary kava root extract blend, with no kavalactone figure. The fruit Classics list 25 to 30 calories and 4 to 5 g of sugar. The Mocktails (Lime Margarita, Moscow Mule, Piña Colada) list 5 to 15 calories and 0 g of sugar. Every 12-pack is $49.99 ($4.17 a can), and the six-flavor Variety Sampler is $29.99 for 6 (checked Oct 21, 2026). Start with the Sampler if you're new.
Our quick picks
Leilo
Try every flavor
Leilo Variety Sampler (6 cans)
Brand site
Leilo
Sugar-free line
Leilo Mocktail Variety Kava Tonic
Brand site
Leilo
Fruit-forward line
Leilo Kava Tonic
Brand site
A red citrus mocktail

What it is

Leilo calls its cans a "kava tonic." There are two lines. The Classics are fruit flavors: Raspberry Hibiscus, Tangerine Mango and Blackberry Orange. The Mocktails are Lime Margarita, Moscow Mule and Piña Colada. Leilo says both lines have "the same amount of kava," and that the mocktails are sugar-free. The cans in Leilo's product photos are 12 fl oz (355 mL). Leilo also sells kava stick packs; we compare those in the best kava powder stick packs.

What the label says

From the "What's Inside" panels and warnings on Leilo's product pages, checked October 21, 2026:

An extract weight isn't a kavalactone figure, so don't compare Leilo's 1,000 mg against a brand that prints kavalactones. Leilo's pages also describe how kava feels; those are the brand's claims, and we don't repeat them.

Flavors, calories and sugar

Each flavor's own product page lists its calories and sugar per can. Flavor words are Leilo's:

FlavorLineLeilo's descriptionCaloriesSugar
Raspberry HibiscusClassic"Bright, Balanced, Floral"254 g
Tangerine MangoClassic"Vibrant, Sweet, Tropical"254 g
Blackberry OrangeClassic"Bold, Juicy, Tangy"305 g
Lime MargaritaMocktail"Crisp, Zesty, Refreshing"100 g
Moscow MuleMocktail"Spicy, Citrusy, Invigorating" (ginger and lime)150 g
Piña ColadaMocktail"Smooth, Velvety, Tropical" (pineapple and coconut)50 g

The Classic and Mocktail variety-pack pages show "0 Calories" in their summary panels, which doesn't match the single-flavor pages. We've used the single-flavor figures above. Check the can if it matters to you.

Price per can

At leilo.com on October 21, 2026, one-time prices:

None was on sale at the one-time price. Subscriptions are cheaper: $39.99 for a 12-pack and $23.99 for the Sampler. Leilo was also running an "October Reset" promo: 30% off your first subscription box ($34.99 instead of $49.99 for a 12-pack), applied at checkout, through October 31, 2026. It's a recurring subscription, so we haven't used it as the price.

How it compares

DrinkKava on the labelCalories / sugarCaffeine-free?Price per can at brand site (checked Oct 21, 2026)Buy
Leilo Kava TonicProprietary blend, 1,000 mg kava root extract; kavalactones not listed5 to 30 / 0 to 5 g, by flavorYes ("zero caffeine")$4.17 (12, $49.99) · $5.00 (6-can Sampler, $29.99)Brand site
MELO Sparkling Kava
Our review
1,000 mg kava root extract blend; kavalactones not listed0 / 0 gYes ("zero caffeine")$4.17 (12, $49.99) · $3.75 (24, $89.99) · $3.61 (36, $129.99)Brand site
Mitra9 Paradise Lychee
Our review
500 mg kava root extract, standardized to 30% kavalactones15 / 2 gNot stated$7.50 (4, $29.99) · $6.25 (12, $74.99) · $6.04 (24, $144.95)Brand site
BBCo Kava Orange Dream
Our review
600 mg kava root isolate; linked lab report (Feb 2025 batch): 59.7 mg total kavalactones50 (can front) / 17 gNot stated$9.00 (4, $36) · $8.50 (12, $102) · $8.25 (24, $198)Shop
BBCo Kava Tutti Frutti
Our review
600 mg kava root isolate; kavalactones not listed60 (can front) / 17 gNot stated; no caffeine source in the ingredients$9.00 (4, $36) · $8.50 (12, $102) · $8.25 (24, $198)Shop

All five checked on each brand's own site October 21, 2026. BBCo's calories are the figures printed on the can front. The kava column quotes the label. An extract weight, a root-isolate weight and a standardized extract are different measurements, so this isn't a strength ranking.

Leilo and MELO cost the same per can in a 12-pack and list the same 1,000 mg extract weight. MELO lists 0 calories and 0 g of sugar across the board. Leilo has more flavors and a 6-can sampler. Mitra9 costs more per can, but it's the only one here that states a kavalactone standardization. Botanical Brewing's Orange Dream and Tutti Frutti are the priciest per can and list the most sugar.

Who it's for

Have one can, never with alcohol, and read who should skip kava below. Comparing Leilo's stick packs and cans with Mitra9? See Leilo vs. Mitra9.

Sources

Checked October 21, 2026. Brands change recipes and prices, so the can in your hand is the final word.

Who should skip kava

  • Kava drinks are for adults 21+. Skip them if you're under 21.
  • Skip kava if you're pregnant or breastfeeding.
  • Skip kava if you have a liver condition or drink heavily. Kava has been linked to rare cases of serious liver injury.
  • Skip it if you take antidepressants (including SSRIs), sedatives, sleep aids or medications that affect the liver, unless your doctor says it's OK.
  • Rules on kava vary by place. Check your local rules before you buy.
  • One can or shell is one serving. Don't mix kava with alcohol, and don't drive after drinking it.

These are general cautions, not medical advice. If you're unsure, talk to your doctor or pharmacist.

Questions people ask

How much kava is in a Leilo can?

Each can lists a 1,000 mg proprietary kava root extract blend. Leilo doesn't list kavalactones, so that's the extract weight, not the kavalactone content.

What's the difference between Leilo's Classics and Mocktails?

Flavor and sugar. The Classics (Raspberry Hibiscus, Tangerine Mango, Blackberry Orange) list 25 to 30 calories and 4 to 5 g of sugar. The Mocktails (Lime Margarita, Moscow Mule, Piña Colada) list 5 to 15 calories and 0 g of sugar. Leilo says both have the same amount of kava.

Does Leilo have caffeine?

No. Leilo says its cans have zero caffeine.

How much does Leilo cost?

At leilo.com on October 21, 2026: $49.99 for any 12-pack ($4.17 a can) or $29.99 for the 6-can Variety Sampler. Subscriptions cost less.

Can you drink Leilo with alcohol?

No. Leilo's label says not to combine it with alcohol, and we never recommend mixing kava and alcohol.

New guides, by email.

Get new reviews and comparisons by email. No spam; unsubscribe anytime. For adults 21+.