
What it is
MELO is a sparkling kava drink in 12 oz slim cans. MELO says it uses noble kava "sourced from Vanuatu," that every batch is third-party lab tested, and that its cans are vegan and gluten-free. There are three flavors and a variety pack, all at the same prices.
What the label says
From the Supplement Facts image and ingredient lists on MELO's product pages, checked October 21, 2026:
- Serving: 1 can (12 fl oz / 360 mL, as the panel lists it).
- Kava: Kava Root Extract Blend (Piper methysticum), 1,000 mg. No kavalactone figure, and we didn't find a lab report linked on the product pages.
- Calories: 0. Total carbohydrate: 14 g, all of it erythritol. Total sugars: 0 g.
- Sweeteners: erythritol and stevia (rebaudioside A).
- Caffeine: none. MELO's FAQ says "Zero caffeine, zero sugar, zero calories, zero alcohol."
- Ingredients, Tahitian Lime: water, organic lemon juice concentrate, organic Tahitian lime flavor concentrate, erythritol, natural spirulina, natural turmeric, rebaudioside A (organic stevia leaf extract).
- Ingredients, Banana: water, natural vanilla flavor concentrate, organic lemon juice concentrate, organic banana flavor concentrate, erythritol, rebaudioside A and natural turmeric.
- Ingredients, Passionfruit Orange Guava: water, organic lemon juice concentrate, organic passionfruit and orange flavor concentrates, erythritol, rebaudioside A, organic guava and strawberry flavor concentrates, organic turmeric and organic annatto seed.
- Warnings: not for anyone under 18 or pregnant or breastfeeding; don't combine with alcohol; don't drive or operate machinery after drinking; ask a healthcare professional first if you take any medication. We recommend kava for adults 21+.
1,000 mg is the weight of the extract blend, not the kavalactones in it, so don't compare it against a brand that prints kavalactones. MELO's pages also describe what kava does; those are the brand's claims, and we don't repeat them.
Flavors, in MELO's words
- Tahitian Lime: "sun-ripened lime with a crisp, tart finish."
- Banana: "Creamy and tropical," which MELO compares to "a smooth daiquiri."
- Passionfruit Orange Guava (POG): "Passionfruit, guava, and a bright citrus finish." MELO calls it its "sweetest, most approachable flavor."
On taste overall, MELO says its cans taste "like the fruit on the can, not like the earthy kava you may have been warned about." We're quoting the brand, not our own tasting notes.
Price per can
At drinkmelo.com on October 21, 2026, every flavor and the variety pack cost the same:
- 12 cans: $49.99, or $4.17 a can
- 24 cans: $89.99, or $3.75 a can
- 36 cans: $129.99, or $3.61 a can
Per-can figures are our math (MELO's page rounds them down to $4.16 and $3.74). None of these was on sale. MELO also offers Subscribe & Save at 25% off ($37.49 for 12), which is a recurring order, so we used one-time prices. MELO says shipping is free on every order, US only.
How it compares
| Drink | Kava on the label | Calories / sugar | Caffeine-free? | Price per can at brand site (checked Oct 21, 2026) | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MELO Sparkling Kava | 1,000 mg kava root extract blend; kavalactones not listed | 0 / 0 g | Yes ("zero caffeine") | $4.17 (12, $49.99) · $3.75 (24, $89.99) · $3.61 (36, $129.99) | Brand site |
| Leilo Kava Tonic Our review | Proprietary blend, 1,000 mg kava root extract; kavalactones not listed | 5 to 30 / 0 to 5 g, by flavor | Yes ("zero caffeine") | $4.17 (12, $49.99) · $5.00 (6-can Sampler, $29.99) | Brand site |
| Mitra9 Paradise Lychee Our review | 500 mg kava root extract, standardized to 30% kavalactones | 15 / 2 g | Not stated | $7.50 (4, $29.99) · $6.25 (12, $74.99) · $6.04 (24, $144.95) | Brand site |
| TRU KAVA Tropical Citrus | Whole-root kava juice, "full-spectrum"; mg not listed | 10 / 0 g | Not stated | $5.83 (6-pack, $34.95) | Brand site |
| BBCo Kava Orange Dream Our review | 600 mg kava root isolate; linked lab report (Feb 2025 batch): 59.7 mg total kavalactones | 50 (can front) / 17 g | Not stated; no caffeine source in the ingredients | $9.00 (4, $36) · $8.50 (12, $102) · $8.25 (24, $198) | Shop |
All five checked on each brand's own site October 21, 2026. Calorie and sugar figures are as each brand lists them; BBCo's calories are the figure printed on the can front. The kava column quotes the label. An extract weight, a root-isolate weight, a standardized extract and "full-spectrum" juice are different measurements, so this isn't a strength ranking.
MELO and Leilo cost the same per can in a 12-pack and list the same 1,000 mg extract weight. MELO lists 0 calories and 0 g of sugar in every flavor, and Leilo's fruit "Classics" list up to 30 calories and 5 g of sugar. Leilo has the cheaper first order: a 6-can sampler. Mitra9 costs more per can but states a kavalactone standardization.
Who it's for
- People cutting sugar who want a kava can with 0 g on the label.
- Regular kava drinkers who'll use a 12, 24 or 36-pack. It's the lowest price per can we've found.
- Not ideal for a first try if you don't want 12 cans. See the best kava drinks of 2026 for options with smaller packs, or the best kava drinks for beginners for first-can picks.
MELO's own advice for new drinkers: "Start with one and give it fifteen minutes before deciding." Have one can, never with alcohol, and read who should skip kava below.
Sources
- MELO Sparkling Kava Variety Pack and MELO's Tahitian Lime, Banana and Passionfruit Orange Guava product pages: prices, pack sizes, Supplement Facts image, ingredients, flavor descriptions, caffeine FAQ, warnings, shipping
- Leilo, Mitra9 Paradise Lychee, TRU KAVA and Botanical Brewing Kava Orange Dream product pages: prices and label facts in the comparison table (Orange Dream's lab report is the one linked from its product page)
Checked October 21, 2026. Brands change recipes and prices, so the can in your hand is the final word.
Who should skip kava
- Kava drinks are for adults 21+. Skip them if you're under 21.
- Skip kava if you're pregnant or breastfeeding.
- Skip kava if you have a liver condition or drink heavily. Kava has been linked to rare cases of serious liver injury.
- Skip it if you take antidepressants (including SSRIs), sedatives, sleep aids or medications that affect the liver, unless your doctor says it's OK.
- Rules on kava vary by place. Check your local rules before you buy.
- One can or shell is one serving. Don't mix kava with alcohol, and don't drive after drinking it.
These are general cautions, not medical advice. If you're unsure, talk to your doctor or pharmacist.
Questions people ask
How much kava is in MELO?
Each can lists a 1,000 mg kava root extract blend. MELO doesn't list kavalactones, so that number is the extract weight, not the kavalactone content.
Does MELO have sugar or calories?
No. The label lists 0 calories and 0 g of sugar. It's sweetened with erythritol (14 g per can) and stevia.
Does MELO have caffeine?
No. MELO says its cans have zero caffeine.
How much does MELO cost?
At drinkmelo.com on October 21, 2026: $49.99 for 12, $89.99 for 24 or $129.99 for 36, which is $3.61 to $4.17 a can.
What flavors does MELO come in?
Banana, Tahitian Lime and Passionfruit Orange Guava, plus a variety pack with all three.
Can you drink MELO with alcohol?
No. MELO's label says not to combine it with alcohol, and we never recommend mixing kava and alcohol.


